top of page

How to Spot an Anxious Student

Chances are, you have at least one anxious student in your classroom. You probably have a good idea who they are, but there could also be a few flying under the radar who are trickier to spot. I'm not a licensed psychologist, but I do have anxiety. Here is my story about what being a student was like for me.


Looking back, it's almost like anxiety has always been a part of me. When I was little and my mom would drop me off at nursery school, I would throw up at the door. I wouldn't ride the bus in elementary school because some boys pulled my hair my first time riding it and I couldn't bring myself to get on it again. Those are just a few small examples and it just spiraled from there. I've always been an overachiever and perfectionist (the A in Type A stands for "Aimee.") I loved school and my grades MATTERED to me. My weekends in high school were filled with dates with my textbook. I missed out on football games and parties because I wanted to study for my AP courses. I'm more on the introverted side, so that was just fine with me.


But tests scared me. When I have anxiety attacks, I throw up or pass out. This is what happened on the morning of my first ever final my freshman year of college. I called my mom who immediately jumped in her car and drove 40 minutes to take me to my finals and then Waffle Luv to celebrate that I made it through the test. (She's the best.)


My teachers had no idea that's what I struggled with since the time I was in about fifth grade. That all changed my junior year of college when one of my Elementary Education professors said something that changed my life forever. Her magic words were:

"A test is just an opportunity for you to show your teacher what you know."

If I was a cartoon character, the little lightbulb would have gone over my head at that moment. For years, the cause of my anxiety was stressing about whether I was choosing the right answer or writing down the right thing instead of using the exam as a way to show how hard I had studied to retain the information.


Mind blowing, right?


That day, I decided that all of the tests my students would take would be called, "Show What You Knows." I knew, in fourth grade, they would have developed a small extent of the fear and dread and I felt when I heard the T word.

When I announce a math, writing, science, etc. Show What You Know, my students know that they don't need to stress about getting the right answer. They just need to show me what they know. If they listened and did their homework, the right answer will come. If they don't get the right answer, that means that, as the teacher, I know how to help them in the future. It's a chance to try again. It has made THE biggest difference in how well they preform on tests.



This is one way I have been able to reduce anxiety in my classroom. Here are a few other ways you can spot an anxious student:


1. They complain of aches and pains often. Typically stomachaches, headaches, or back aches. In the lower grades, they could also complain of an ache that doesn’t really make sense. Such as their finger hurting when nothing has happened to cause the pain. (They don’t have a scratch or cut, didn’t jam it, etc.)


2. They always want you to check their work. Sometimes anxiety manifests itself in seeking validation. The thought of getting an answer wrong or failing terrifies this student. It’s okay to check their work or at the minimum to let them know they’re on the right track. This will mean the world to this student.


3. They withdraw occasionally. This means they need a break. Talk to them about ways they can ground themself. (Taking a paper to the office for you, helping pick up garbage around the classroom, silent reading, etc.) to get their mind off the task or situation that is stressing them out. Most importantly, don’t yell at the student when this happens.


4. They are scared to ask for help. When you have given clear expectations and directions and their paper is blank, ask them what is going on. Then offer support: “How can I help you with this?” “Do you know what the first step is?”


5. Tests scare them. And now you have a trick up your sleeve for that ;)


BONUS: Here is a list of my favorite books and resources for social and emotional learning.


Until next time friend,


bottom of page