top of page

Coping with Grief in the Classroom

My first year teaching was at the peak of the global COVID-19 Pandemic. I believe all students were experiencing different types of grief in various degrees. These resilient kiddos had challenges ranging from not playing with friends after school, cancelled after school activities, and watching their loved ones battle life-threatening illnesses.



One of the most vivid memories I have of the 2020-2021 school year was getting called into the principal's office in the middle of a math lesson so he could tell me my student had a family member pass away. The news was heart breaking. I reached out to hundreds of fellow educators through Facebook for advice. I received some incredible answers from those who had navigated similar tragedies with their students or experienced them first hand.


















This advice was so helpful in my situation and I hope it can benefit anyone else in the same circumstances!




bottom of page