top of page

Getting Started With DonorsChoose

As I was beginning my first year teaching, I realized I didn't have the monetary means to get the supplies I needed for my first classroom. Because of donorschoose.org, I was able to get EVERY item on my Amazon Wishlist for FREE thanks to the generosity of several individuals and companies.


My Top 3 Tips for Success:


1. Have a project you are passionate about! Has your class been desperately needing new personal whiteboards? Do you want to provide your students with books that represent all kinds of backgrounds? Would new math manipulatives help make your lessons more engaging? Start a project for it! These are all examples of projects that have been funded quickly in the past. If you would like some ideas, I have put together a list of some of my favorite Amazon products for inspiration. You can find them here!


2. Join Facebook Groups. 100% of my funding came through Facebook. These groups were so supportive of me in getting started, some members even donated to my projects! Here are my favorites:


3. Be Aware of Match Offers. There are hundreds of generous companies and organizations that will match your donations! Here is a list of some matches teachers are currently benefiting from them. When you create your first project, Donor'sChoose will help you find match offers to help you maximize the amount of funding you receive!



Create your first project here: http://share.donorschoose.org/VjdCm


BONUS: I just started a YouTube channel to help give you tips and steps to create successful projects!





Good luck with starting your project, friend! Remember you can message me anytime for help!


bottom of page